Glen Coe (Scottish Gaelic: Gleann Comhan, pronounced [klan̪ˠˈkʰo.ən̪ˠ]) is a glen of volcanic origins, in the Highlands of Scotland. It lies in the southern part of the Lochaber committee area of Highland Council, and was formerly part of the county of Argyll. It is often considered one of the most spectacular and beautiful places in Scotland, and is a part of the designated National Scenic Area of Ben Nevis and Glen Coe. The narrow glen shows a grim grandeur. The glen, approaching from the east on the main A82 road, is surrounded by wild and precipitous mountains. Further west at Invercoe, the landscape has a softer beauty before the main entrance to the glen. The main settlement is the nearby village of Glencoe located at the foot of the valley.

The name Glen Coe is often said to mean “Glen of Weeping”, perhaps with some reference to the infamous Massacre of Glencoe which took place there in 1692. However, “Gleann Comhann” does not translate as “Glen of Weeping”. In fact the Glen is named after the River Coe which runs through it, and bore this name long before the 1692 incident. The name of the river is believed to predate the Gaelic language and its meaning is not known. It is possible that the name stems from an individual personal name, Comhan (gen. Comhain)

Glencoe In Movies

. Highlander – There Can Be Only One (1986)
. Braveheart (1995)
. Rob Roy (1995)
. Skyfall (2012)
. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (2004)
. Kuch Kuch Hota Hai (1998)
. Being Human (1994)
. The Bridal Path (1959)
. Bonnie Prince Charlie (1948)
. Centurion (2010)
. Complicity (2000)
. Highlander: Endgame (2000)
. Kidnapped (1960)
. The Master of Ballantrae (1953)
. Monty Python And The Holy Grail (1975)
. Quest Of Fire (1981)
. Restless Natives (1985)
. The 39 Steps (1935)
. Year Of The Comet (1992)

Glencoe In Series

. Outlander (2014 –
. Rockface (2002 – 2003)
. Two Thousand Acres of Sky (2001 – 2003)


Glen Coe (gälisch Gleann Comhann) ist ein Tal (glen) in den schottischen Highlands. Es liegt in den Unitary Authorities Highland und Argyll and Bute. Einziges Dorf am Talausgang ist Glencoe, das nächstgelegene Unterzentrum ist Ballachulish. Der Fluss Coe mündet hier in die Meeresbucht Loch Leven , einen Seitenarm des Loch Linnhe. Der Glen Coe ist ein beliebtes Wander- und Skigebiet für Touristen. Ausgangspunkt für Besuche ist oft das nahegelegene Fort William, verbunden mit dem Glen Coe über die A 82.

. Highlander – Es kann nur einen geben (1986)
. Braveheart (1995)
. Rob Roy (1995)
. James Bond: Skyfall (2012)
. Harry Potter und der Gefangene von Askaban (2004)
. Kuch Kuch Hota Hai – Und ganz plötzlich ist es Liebe (1998)
. Wer hat meine Familie geklaut (1994)
. Ein Schotte auf Brautschau (1959)
. Bonnie Prince Charlie (1948)
. Centurion (2010)
. Complicity (2000)
. Highlander: Endgame (2000)
. Entführt – Die Abenteuer des David Balfour (1960)
. Der Freibeuter (1953)
. Die Ritter der Kokosnuß(1975)
. Am Anfang war das Feuer (1981)
. Die Touristenfalle (1985)
. Die 39 Stufen (1935)
. Das Jahr des Kometen (1992)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s